The Old Course at Headfort Golf Club is one of the finest examples of a long established, mature challenge with its large selection of trees gracing the fairways, and greens to die for!
With both courses consistently rated in the top 100 courses in Ireland, the old course is by far the shorter of the two at Headfort. That is not to say it is not a challenge.An ability to fade and draw the ball are a huge advantage. There is very little rough on this course as each of the immaculate fairways are closely lined with a varied collection of magnificent old, mature trees. Be sure to bring your A-game for this track, especially for around the greens, some of the very best on offer in Ireland.
Golf Course Facilities
- Course Type: Parkland
- Number of courses: 1
- Buggies: Yes
- Caddies: Yes
- Driving Range: Yes
- Towels: Yes
Bar & Restaurant Details
- Restaurant Opening Hours: 12:00-22:00
- Bar Opening Hours: 12:30-23:30
- Hotel Name: Headfort Arms Hotel
- Hotel Number: +353 46 927 4222
- Spa: No
- Pool: No
Established in 1928, Headfort Golf Club is one of the finest parkland complexes in the Country. Boasting 36 holes, both courses have stunning mature trees, many being specimen, which enhance this unique landscape.
The idea of creating a new club near Kells, to the North-west of Dublin, was first agreed in 1929 and the Course came into play the following year with nine holes laid out in a section of beautiful parkland leased from the Headfort estate. The Club was then affiliated to the Golfing Union of Ireland in 1930 and celebrated its 75th Anniversary in 2005. In its formative years the Club was well served by a vet and his horse. The local animal doctor, a certain Mr Val Kelly, set his sights on producing the finest greens on the East Coast and worked tirelessly to this end. While the vet is remembered with gratitude and affection, the poor old horse was sold for a mere £18 in 1939, just a few months after the Club bought one of those new-fangled motor tractors. However, with the start of World War II and the shortage of petrol, the loyal horse was once again back on the Headfort fairways!!
In 1956 the Course was extended from nine to eighteen holes and the Club reached another milestone in its history when, in 1987, the members bought the Course outright from the then owner of the Headfort estate, a Canadian by the name of Bill Kruger. In 1998 the Headfort Members were given the opportunity to purchase a tract of adjoining land stretching down to and beyond the River Blackwater. This land included two wonderful islands on the river, home to a magnificent Asiatic tree collection lovingly assembled by the former Lord Headfort.
Headfort, now in existence since 1928, is an experience to rival the best in Ireland.